LibGuides: The Roaring Twenties: 1920s Culture

Books in our Library

The 1920s by Erica Hanson
Call Number: 973.91 COL
ISBN: 1560065524
Discusses the political, economic, and cultural life of the United States in the 1920s, including prohibition, the higher standard of living, the Teapot Dome scandal, barnstorming, and flappers.
The 1920s by Richard Tames
Call Number: 909.82 TAM
ISBN: 0531141829
Text and pictures describe the events, fashions, inventions, and personalities of the 1920s.

Destiny The ARHS library catalog for books on your topic

The 1920s : from prohibition to Charles Lindbergh by Stephen Feinstein
Call Number: 973.9 FEI
ISBN: 0766016102
A chronicle of the 1920s, including the fads, triumphs, tragedies, and fashions of that decade.
1920s : the Hulton Getty picture collection by [edited by] Nick Yapp
Call Number: 909.82 YAP
ISBN: 3829005199
A collection of photographs that depict life in the 1920s, grouped in the categories of movers and shakers, haves and have-nots, work, leisure, entertainment, fashion and arts, science, transport, sport, children, and all human life.
Fashions of a decade by Jacqueline Herald ; original illustrations by Robert Price.
Call Number: 391 FAS
ISBN: 0816024650
Surveys the fads, fashions, trends, and cultural and intellectual preoccupations of the comfortable, high-living 1920s.
Setting a course : American women in the 1920s by Dorothy M. Brown.
Call Number: 305.4 BRO
ISBN: 0805799060
Examines the identity of "the new woman" of the 1920s chronicling their struggles and experiences in contrast to popular images set forth in the mass media and in literature of the day.
Daily life in the United States, 1920-1939 : decades of promise and pain by David E. Kyvig
Call Number: 973.91 DAI
ISBN: 0313295557
Examines what daily life was like for ordinary people in the U. S. in the 1920s and the 1930s, discussing the impact of automobiles, electricity, radio, cinema, conflict and crime, the standardization of culture, the Great Depression, and the New Deal on the lives of American citizens.
The roaring twenties, 1920-1930 by editors of Time-Life Books
Call Number: REF 973.91 ROA
ISBN: 0809482134
Chronicles popular culture and historical events during the 1920s, showing how Americans of various social and economic strata lived.
20th century art, 1920-40 : realism and surrealism by Jackie Gaff
Call Number: 709.04 TWE
ISBN: 083682850X
An illustrated history of art in the years between 1920 and 1940, looking at the different movements and artists that characterized the decade, and discussing their relationship to the social and cultural trends of the era.
20s & 30s : between the wars by Jackie Gaff
Call Number: 745.2 TWE
ISBN: 0836827066
A color-illustrated look at the innovations in technology and design that affected home products, furniture, architecture, transportation, and fashion in the 1920s and '30s.
The collected poems of Langston Hughes by Arnold Rampersad, editor, David Roessel, associate editor
Call Number: 811.52 HUG
ISBN: 0679426310
A complete collection of Hughes's poetry spanning five decades, from the 1920s through the 1960s.
Early jazz : its roots and musical development by Gunther Schuller
Call Number: 781.57 SCH
ISBN: 0195040430
Describes the history of jazz from its beginnings in the early 1900s until its first boom in the 1930s, and discusses the great jazz soloists of the 1920s, including Bessie Smith and Louis Armstrong, and the big bands and arrangers, such as Fletcher Henderson, Bennie Moten, and Duke Ellington.
Everyday fashions of the twenties as pictured in Sears and other catalogs by edited and with text by Stella Blum.
Call Number: 391 EVE
ISBN: 0486241343
Presents fashion pages from the Sears, Roebuck, and other mail-order catalogs of the 1920s, featuring over 750 captioned illustrations of clothing and accessories for men, women, and children.
The Harlem Renaissance by Veronica Chambers
Call Number: 700 CHA
ISBN: 0791025977
Recounts the vibrant personalities and remarkable cultural movements that flourished in America's leading African-American community during the 1920s and 1930s.
Harlem Renaissance : art of Black America by introduction by Mary Schmidt Campbell ; essays by David Driskell, David Levering Lewis, and Deborah Willis Ryan.
Call Number: 704 HAR
ISBN: 0810981289
One hundred fifty works by Black artists in Harlem during the 1920s from the exhibition at the Studio Museum in Harlem.
The jazz age : the 20s by by the editors of Time-Life Books ; [editors, Loretta Britten, Paul Mathless]
Call Number: REF 973 OUR
ISBN: 0783555091
Photographs and text help chronicle the major events that took place in the United States during the 1920s.
The roaring twenties by David Pietrusza
Call Number: 973.91 PIE
ISBN: 1560063092
Presents a social history of the United States during the 1920s, a decade of prosperity, Prohibition, presidential scandels, fads and sensations, controversies, sports heroes, and the stock market crash.
The twenties in America by Paul A. Carter
Call Number: 973.91 CAR
ISBN: 0882957171
A history of America in the 1920s that examines social, cultural, and political aspects, including radicalism and conservatism, President Coolidge and his critics, Ernest Hemingway, sports, jazz, religion, and urban and rural society.
1920-40 : atoms to automation by Steve Parker
Call Number: 509 PAR
ISBN: 0836829433
Looks at some of the significant scientific and technological discoveries and inventions made in the years between 1920 and 1940, and includes a time line, glossary, photographs and illustrations, and resources for further study.
American decades: 1920-1929 by edited by Judith S. Baughman
Call Number: REF 973.92 AME
ISBN: 0810357240
An exploration of American life from 1920 through 1929, looking at key people, events, and topics in the arts, business and the economy, education, fashion, government and politics, law, lifestyles and social trends, media, medicine and health, religion, science and technology, and sports.
Yearbooks in science : 1920-1929 by David E. Newton
Call Number: REF 609.04 YEA
ISBN: 0805034323
Presents an overview of innovations and achievements in science and technology during the twentieth century.
Our century 1920-1930
Call Number: 973.9 OUR
ISBN: 0836810341
Presents daily life, the sports world, international affairs, great scientific discoveries, the arts, and outstanding achievements of the third decade of the 20th century.

Topics

Topic Overviews

The Formation of Modern American Mass Culture
Low Brow and Middle Brow Culture
The Avant-Garde
JazzAge Culture: Part I JazzAge Culture: Part II JazzAge Culture: Part III
American Culture History - 1920s links compiled by Lone Star College – Kingwood

Poets and Writers

Brief Timeline of American Literature and Events, 1920-1929 , Washington State University

Modernism and Experimentation: 1914-1945

Poets.org Search for the author at this website to find sample work, photos, and audio.

Pablo Picasso Official Website

Radio

Radio in the 1920s - American Studies @ the University of Virginia

Radio: A Consumer Product and a Producer of Consumption

Radio and Television Subcategories

President Harding Installed a Radio in the White House

Harlem Renaissance (writers, music, theatre)

Jazz in Time - Roaring Twenties PBS website that accompanies Ken Burns documentary JAZZ

Art of the Harlem Renaissance This Web site provides an introduction to the exhibition Rhapsodies in Black: Art of the Harlem Renaissance, curated by David A. Bailey and Richard J. Powell and organized by the Hayward Gallery, London in collaboration with the Corcoran Gallery of Art, Washington D.C., and the Institute of International Visual Arts (inIVA).

Harlem 1900-1940: An African-American Community This exhibit, which was originally published the Schomburg Center for Black Culture, New York Public Library, in 1991 traces the history of the urban experience in Harlem's early days through graphic and photographic images.

Harlem History, from Columbia University Harlem History presents a wealth of archival treasures and scholarship from Columbia about the history of one of the world's most famous and influential neighborhoods. Primary source material related to the Harlem Renaissance can be found under the link for “arts and culture."

Harlem Renaissance The Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) Web site features a transcript of the February 20, 1998, television program "Harlem Renaissance" that was broadcast as part of the PBS "Newshour Forum. The program highlights an exhibit in San Francisco that explored the artistic and cultural legacies of the 1920s and 1930s. Discusses the art and culture of the Harlem Renaissance and profiles African-American artists of the period.

Harlem Renaissance This Web site from California University features a bibliography about the works of various personalities of the Harlem Renaissance era.

Harlem Renaissance Multimedia Resource This Web site from John Carroll University is an ongoing project about the Harlem Renaissance. The site includes audio and video files.

Sports

Hollywood

Digital History: Hollywood as History

Read 492-495, 498-500, 503, 504

Gale Virtual Reference Library and Student Edition

ABC-CLIO

Explore an Era; 1920’s compiled by ABC-CLIO Database for other topics click in the search box window, type your topic/keyword(s) and press enter or click on the Search button

ABC-CLIO's Overview of the Roaring Twenties