ABC-CLIO Access sources of information covering the explorers of the Americas to the issues of today’s headlines, American History investigates the people, events, and stories of our nation’s evolution.
American Government
To access from home, see a librarian at ARHS for the username and password.
| ebooks searchable using the search window above |
|
Topic overviews and primary sources via the Global Issues database
The Montgomery Bus Boycott posted by ADAH: Alabama Moments in History
Montgomery Bus Boycott including primary sources via the National Archives at Atlanta
"Tired of Giving In," an aritcle posted on America.gov
The Story of the Montgomery Bus Boycott as reported by the Montgomery Adivsor
Code of the City of Montgomery, Alabama. Charlottesville: Michie City Publishing Co., 1952. Alabama Department of Archives and History, Montgomery, Alabama.
Montgomery Advertiser article, 12/06/55, Alabama Department of Archives and History Public Information Subject Files - General File, Bus Boycott, SG6945, folder 305b. Alabama Department of Archives and History, Montgomery, Alabama.
Montgomery Advertiser article, 12/9/55, Alabama Department of Archives and History Public Information Subject Files - General File, Bus Boycott, SG6945, folder 305b. Alabama Department of Archives and History, Montgomery, Alabama.
"Negroes' Most Urgent Needs," Inez Jessie Baskin Papers, Alabama Department of Archives and History, Montgomery, Alabama.
Montgomery Advertiser editorial, 4/26/56. Alabama Department of Archives and History Public Information Subject Files - General File, Bus Boycott, SG6945, folder 305b. Alabama Department of Archives and History, Montgomery, Alabama.
"Integrated Bus Suggestions," Inez Jessie Baskin Papers, Alabama Department of Archives and History, Montgomery, Alabama.
A brief overview article from the Library of Congress, The First March From Selma March 7, 1965
The American Experience: March from Selma to Montgomery, Alabama via PBS. Includes in article discussing why the activists decided to
march and a couple of primary sources.
Anrticle, First March from Selma, from the Library Congress with hyperlinks to additional information as well as primary sources.
Civil Rights, Voting Rights, and the Selma March via the Armistad Digital Resource published by Columbia University
1965 Selma- to Montgomery Voting Rights March - Alabama Journal and Birmngham News Articles from March 1965
Topic Overviews and primary sources via the Global Issues database
School Desegregation Movement: Brown vs. The Board Of Education from the Armistad Digital Resource sponsored by Columbia University (includes primary sources)
Seperate is Not Equal: Brown v. Board of Education - Smithsonian National Museum of American History
"With in Even Hand" an online Library of Congress exhibition
Brown v. Board of Educatjion published by the National Park Service (after reading the article, scroll down to the bottom the page for other helpful links)
Documents related to Brown v. Board of Education via The U.S. National Archives
On the Front Lines with Thurgood Marshall: An Interview with Jack Greenberg on April 30, 2008 - U.S. Department of State
Take a Closer Look
Birmingham Campaign of 1963 - Alabama Encylopedia sponsered by Alabama University
The Birmingham Desegregation Campaign - Armistad Digital Resource published by Columbia University
Primary Sources
Letter from a Birmingham Jail, Martin Luther King, Jr., 1963
Document 1."Telegram from L.H. Foster 05/13/63," Alabama Governor Wallace Administrative files, SG12655, folder 3, Alabama Department of Archives and History, Montgomery, Alabama.
Document 2. "Telegram from George Andrews 05/13/63," Alabama Governor Wallace Administrative files, SG12655, folder 3, Alabama Department of Archives and History, Montgomery, Alabama.
Document 3. "Telegram from NBC News 05/16/63," Alabama Governor Wallace Administrative files, SG12655, folder 6, Alabama Department of Archives and History, Montgomery, Alabama.
Document 4. "Telegram from Wallace to The President 05/13/63," Alabama Governor Wallace Administrative files, SG12655, folder 3, Alabama Department of Archives and History, Montgomery, Alabama.
Document 5. "Telegram from Mayor Boutwell 05/28/63," Alabama Governor Wallace Administrative files, SG12655, folder 5, Alabama Department of Archives and History, Montgomery, Alabama.
Document 6. "Documents on Human Rights in Alabama," Alabama Governor Wallace Administrative files, SG12655, folder 6, Alabama Department of Archives and History, Montgomery, Alabama.
[1] Foster Hailey, “Dr. King Arrested at Birmingham,” New York Times, April 13, 1963. [2] Ibid. [3] “Transcript of the President’s News Conference on Domestic and Foreign Affairs,” New York Times, May 9, 1963. [4] “Sanity in Birmingham,” New York Times, May 11, 1963.
Watergate Files via the Gerald R. Ford Library & Museum.
The Watergate Story via the Washington Post
Article, Watergate, published on the website, Digital History
Primary Sources
“In the Shadow of Society”: Migrant Workers and Unionists Urge Congress to Enact Effective Federal Farm Labor Regulations via History Matters
“The Cycle of Poverty”: Mexican-American Migrant Farmworkers Testify before Congress via History Matters
Mirgrant Farm Worker Today
On the Border, PBS - Politics and Economy
Topic Overview and Background Informaton
The Rosenberg Trial: University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Law
Waco: The Inside Story via PBS Frontline
Primary Sources
Treasury Department press memorandum, July 13, 1995 - via PBS Frontline
Janet Reno's opening statement before the Congressional Hearings on August 1, 1995.
Report to the Deputy Attorney General on the Events at Waco, Texas February 28 to April 19, 1993 - U.S. Department of Justice
Airlift to Wounded Knee, a memoir by Bill Zimmerman
Sexual Orienation and the Stonewall Riots. This article is published in the book, Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States.
Stonewall Uprising -PBS, includes primary sources
Articles as well as primary sources via PBS Online News Hour: The Impeachment Trial
Articles and primary source documents compiled by the staff for the Washington Post: Accused
Articles compliled by the New York Times Staff - O.J. Simpson News
Article from History.com - Riots Erupt in Los Angeles
Military Operations in Los Angeles, 1992
2:35 minute video from CBS News: In History: LA Riots
1992: LA in Flames in 'not guilty' verdict article from the BBC with two videos for viewing
Article, Watts, published in book America Decades
Watts Riots - PBS
President Johnson and Martin Luther King Jr. on the Watts Riots - Miller Center at the University of Virgina
On Feb. 29, 1968, President Johnson's National Advisory Commission on Civil Disorders (also known as the Kerner Commission) warned that racism was causing America to move "toward two societies, one black, one white -- separate and unequal." New York Times article
REPORT OF THE NATIONAL ADVISORY COMMISSION ON CIVIL DISORDERS - The Eisenhower Foundation
In a September 2011 Times op-ed, professors Desmond S. King and Rogers M. Smith, authors of “Still a House Divided: Race and Politics in Obama’s America,” argue that many of today’s politicians ignore racial issues facing the country and are not adequately addressing the problems faced by minorities.
In February 2008, the Foundation released a forty year update of the Kerner Riot Commission. Click here to read the Executive Summary of the Foundation's preliminary findings, revised after the November 4, 2008 Presidential election. - The Eisenhower Foundation
Photos at Time
Article from the New York Times
Oklahoma City Bombing: Is History Repeating Itself Today? published by Christian Science Moniters
Primary Sources compiled by Digital History
Anti-war Movement in the United States published from The Oxford Companion to American Military History posted by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Antiwar and Radical History Project – Pacific Northwest via Harry Bridges Center for Labor Studies
Nation: FBI v. Jean Seberg - TIME
Cointelpro - PBS
Seattle Black Panther Party and History Project
http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/MRC/pacificapanthers.html - This site has a fairly extensive collection of audio, video and photographic materials on the Black Panther Party, as well as a detailed timeline of Panther history.
http://www.etext.org/Politics/MIM/bpp/index.html - This site include a collection of articles from The Black Panther