ABC-CLIO Access sources of information covering the explorers of the Americas to the issues of today’s headlines, American History investigates the people, events, and stories of our nation’s evolution.
American Government
To access from home, see a librarian at ARHS for the username and password.
| ebooks searchable using the search window above |
|
Topic Overviews and Background Information
Memorandum of a Conference with President Eisenhower after Sputnik via the U.S. National Archives
Brown v. Board of Education: Virginia Responds, on online exhibition fromt the The Library of Virginia
Primary Sources made avialable by The Dwight D. Eisenhower Presidential Library and Museum
Related Materials to Brown v. Board of Education via The Library of Congress
Take a Closer Look
The Cold War Continued: Nuclear Arms Race, Arms Control, and Détente - American Decades. Ed. Judith S. Baughman, et al. Vol. 7: 1960-1969. Detroit: Gale, 2001
Dawning of the Nuclear Age - Cold War Reference Library. Ed. Richard C. Hanes, Sharon M. Hanes, and Lawrence W. Baker. Vol. 1: Almanac Volume 1. Detroit: UXL, 2004. 79-97
Renewed Tensions - Cold War Reference Library. Ed. Richard C. Hanes, Sharon M. Hanes, and Lawrence W. Baker. Vol. 2: Almanac Volume 2. Detroit: UXL, 2004. 191-212.
Mutual Assured Destruction - Cold War Reference Library. Ed. Richard C. Hanes, Sharon M. Hanes, and Lawrence W. Baker. Vol. 2: Almanac Volume 2. Detroit: UXL, 2004. 233-249.
Primary Sources
Documents via PBS: American Experience, Race for the Super Bomb
Dwight D. Eisenhower - Excerpt from "Peaceful Uses of Atomic Energy" Speech before the General Assembly of the United Nations, New York City, December 8, 1953
"Should America Build the H Bomb? - American Decades Primary Sources. In this excerpt from his essay "Should America Build the H Bomb?" Harold Urey (Discovered deuterium, a heavy isotope of hydrogen which won him the 1934 Nobel Prize in chemistry) concludes that the United States must develop the hydrogen bomb.
Sources from the Gale Virtural Reference Library
Nikita Khrushchev's to President Kenney
The Cuban Missle Crisis via the National Security Archive
Documents related to the Cuban Missile Crisis made available on the National Security Agency website
Topic Overview and Background Information
Bay of Pigs: 40 years after The National Security Archive site provides a thorough history of the Bay of Pigs invasion with links to full-text documents and audio recordings.
Bay of Pigs Reports The CIA's Popular Documents Collection includes the Bay of Pigs Reports on high-level government self-evaluation of its performance in an historic and controversial event.
The CIA's Internal Probe of the Bay of Pigs Affair
Created by Michael Warner, this CIA website focuses on the CIA inquiry into the government's handling of the Cuban Bay of Pigs operation.
Sources from the Gale Virtual Library
Vietnam Online via PBS
The Nation: The My Lai Massacre via Time Magazine
Topic overivews via the Global Issues in Context database
Iranian Hostage Crisis via PBS
No Islands of Stability via Digital History
Take a Closer Look
Primary Sources
The Iran-Contra Affair 20 Years On - Documents Spotlight Role of Reagan, Top Aides housed at the National Security Archive
Documents via the National Security Archive reposted by Brown University.
The Contras, Cocaine and Covert Operations - National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Book No. 2
The Deputy Director of the CIA Advises on the Situation in Nicaragua - CIA, Memorandum from DDI Robert M. Gates to DCI William J. Casey, "Nicaragua," SECRET, 14 December 1984, George Washington University, The National Security Archive, The Iran-Contra Affair 20 Years On
Caspar W. Weinberger, Diary Entry for 7 December 1985, (Washington, DC: National Archives); available from The National Secruity Archive, The Iran-Contra Affair 20 Years On
National Security Council, "National Security Planning Group Minutes: Subject: Central America, SECRET," 25 June 1984, (Washington, DC: National Archives), available from The National Security Archive, The Iran-Contra Affair 20 Years On
United States Central Intelligence Agency, The Freedom Fighter's Manual (New York: Grove Press, [1985]).
Topic overviews via the Global Issues in Context database
The Gulf Wars, an article published in the book, Middle East Conflict Reference Library
Hussein, Saddam, and article published in the book, Middle East Conflict Reference Library
The Wars for Vietnam from 1945 - 1975 from Vassar College
Vietnam War Online via PBS
The History Place presents the Vietnam War
The Causes of the Vietnam War repritned from The Oxford Companion to American Military History Why Vietnam? via the website Digital History
http://www.digitalhistory.uh.edu/learning_history/vietnam/vietnam_where.cfm
KLCS American Experience: Vietnam Primary Sources
Primar Source Documnets via KLCS
The Vietnam Center and Archive
New York Times Historical Newspapers - Articles from New York Daily Times (1851-1857) and New York Times (1857-2001). Viewing requires Adobe Acrobat.
Newspaper Archive - Full-text articles from a wide range of historical newspapers. [ World Languages Options ]
African American Experience - Encyclopedia articles, primary documents (manuscripts, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, etc), interviews and journal articles exploring the African American experience.
American Indian History & Culture - Articles, biographies, images and primary source documents detailing the Native American experience.
Topic Overview and Background Information
Primary Sources
"We Must Keep the Labor Unions Clean": "Friendly" HUAC Witnesses Ronald Reagan and Walt Disney Blame Hollywood Labor Conflicts on Communist Infiltration:
"A Damaging Impression of Hollywood Has Spread": Movie "Czar" Eric Johnston Testifies before HUAC: http://historymatters.gmu.edu/d/6443
"They Want to Muzzle Public Opinion": John Howard Lawson's Warning to the American Public: http://historymatters.gmu.edu/d/6441
(Note: Part of Lawson's testimony is available in audio format at the site Authentic History:
"The World Was at Stake": Three "Friendly" HUAC Hollywood Witnesses Assess Pro-Soviet Wartime Films (Jack L. Warner, Louis B. Mayer, Miss Ayn Rand):
Topic Overviews and Background Information
Warsaw Pact
Cold War History Project: Warsaw Pact housed at The Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars
NATO
Topic Overview and Background Information
The Development of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) via the The Harry S. Truman Library and Museum which includes links to primary source documents
CIA and Assassinations: The Guatemala 1954 Documents via National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Book No. 4