ABC-CLIO Access sources of information covering the explorers of the Americas to the issues of today’s headlines, American History investigates the people, events, and stories of our nation’s evolution.
American Government
To access from home, see a librarian at ARHS for the username and password.
| ebooks searchable using the search window above |
|
A brief overview article from the Library of Congress, The First March From Selma
March 7, 1965
Civil Rights, Voting Rights, and the Selma March via the Armistad Digital Resource published by Columbia University
Article and Primary Source via the Global Issues in Context database
The American Experience: March from Selma to Montgomery, Alabama via PBS. Includes in article discussing why the activists decided to
march and a couple of primary sources.
Anrticle, First March from Selma, from the Library Congress with hyperlinks to additional information as well as primary sources.
1965 Selma- to Montgomery Voting Rights March - Alabama Journal and Birmngham News Articles from March 1965
Topic Overviews and primary sources via the Global Issues database
School Desegregation Movement: Brown vs. The Board Of Education from the Armistad Digital Resource sponsored by Columbia University (includes primary sources)
"With in Even Hand" an online Library of Congress exhibition
Brown v. Board of Educatjion published by the National Park Service (after reading the article, scroll down to the bottom the page for other helpful links)
Documents related to Brown v. Board of Education via The U.S. National Archives
Take a Closer Look
Birmingham Campaign of 1963 via the Alabama Encylopedia sponsered by Alabama University
The Birmingham Desegregation Campaign via the Armistad Digital Resource published by Columbia University
Primary Sources
Letter from a Birmingham Jail, Martin Luther King, Jr., 1963
Document 1."Telegram from L.H. Foster 05/13/63," Alabama Governor Wallace Administrative files, SG12655, folder 3, Alabama Department of Archives and History, Montgomery, Alabama.
Document 2. "Telegram from George Andrews 05/13/63," Alabama Governor Wallace Administrative files, SG12655, folder 3, Alabama Department of Archives and History, Montgomery, Alabama.
Document 3. "Telegram from NBC News 05/16/63," Alabama Governor Wallace Administrative files, SG12655, folder 6, Alabama Department of Archives and History, Montgomery, Alabama.
Document 4. "Telegram from Wallace to The President 05/13/63," Alabama Governor Wallace Administrative files, SG12655, folder 3, Alabama Department of Archives and History, Montgomery, Alabama.
Document 5. "Telegram from Mayor Boutwell 05/28/63," Alabama Governor Wallace Administrative files, SG12655, folder 5, Alabama Department of Archives and History, Montgomery, Alabama.
Document 6. "Documents on Human Rights in Alabama," Alabama Governor Wallace Administrative files, SG12655, folder 6, Alabama Department of Archives and History, Montgomery, Alabama.
[1] Foster Hailey, “Dr. King Arrested at Birmingham,” New York Times, April 13, 1963.
[2] Ibid.
[3] “Transcript of the President’s News Conference on Domestic and Foreign Affairs,” New York Times, May 9, 1963.
[4] “Sanity in Birmingham,” New York Times, May 11, 1963.
Taking a Closer Look
9/11 Attacks via The New York Times
Foundation of the New Terrorism
Other Readings from the The National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States Qutb's Views on Jews and Christians as Reflected in His Koran Commentary by Michael Ebstein
Shaking Hands with Saddam Hussein: The U.S. Tilts toward Iraq, 1980 0 1984 from National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Book No. 82
Primary Sources
Interview with Osama bin Laden 1998
Wrath of God - Time Interview with Osama bin Laden, January 11, 1999
Interviews Conducted in Early 1998 and 1999 Following the Bombings of Two U.S. Embassies in East Africa via PBS:Frontline
The Trail of Evidence Primary Source Documents via KCLS
Testimony of Attorney General John Ashcroft, The National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States, April 13, 2004 Statement of Stephen Push to the National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States, March 31, 2003
Pakistan's Bin Laden Policy - Declassified Documents Show Pakistani Refusal to Help Apprehend Terrorist before 9/11 from the National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Book No. 344
The Osama Bin Laden File from the National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Book No. 343
Primary Sources
“In the Shadow of Society”: Migrant Workers and Unionists Urge Congress to Enact Effective Federal Farm Labor Regulations via History Matters
“The Cycle of Poverty”: Mexican-American Migrant Farmworkers Testify before Congress via History Matters
Mirgrant Farm Worker Today
 |
|
Airlift to Wounded Knee, a memoir by Bill Zimmerman
Article from History.com - Riots Erupt in Los Angeles
Military Operations in Los Angeles, 1992
2:35 minute video from CBS News: In History: LA Riots
1992: LA in Flames in 'not guilty' verdict article from the BBC with two videos for viewing
Article, Watts, published in book America Decades
Urban Unrest and Socioeconomic Conditions via the Armistad Digital Resource published by Columbia University (includes a primary source)
Watts Riots - PBS
President Johnson and Martin Luther King Jr. on the Watts Riots - Miller Center at the University of Virgina
On Feb. 29, 1968, President Johnson's National Advisory Commission on Civil Disorders (also known as the Kerner Commission) warned that racism was causing America to move "toward two societies, one black, one white -- separate and unequal." New York Times article
REPORT OF THE NATIONAL ADVISORY COMMISSION ON CIVIL DISORDERS - The Eisenhower Foundation
In a September 2011 Times op-ed, professors Desmond S. King and Rogers M. Smith, authors of “Still a House Divided: Race and Politics in Obama’s America,” argue that many of today’s politicians ignore racial issues facing the country and are not adequately addressing the problems faced by minorities.
In February 2008, the Foundation released a forty year update of the Kerner Riot Commission. Click here to read the Executive Summary of the Foundation's preliminary findings, revised after the November 4, 2008 Presidential election. - The Eisenhower Foundation
Photos at Time
Article from the New York Times
Oklahoma City Bombing: Is History Repeating Itself Today? published by Christian Science Moniters
Primary Sources compiled by Digital History
Anti-war Movement in the United States published from The Oxford Companion to American Military History posted by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Antiwar and Radical History Project – Pacific Northwest via Harry Bridges Center for Labor Studies
Nation: FBI v. Jean Seberg - TIME
Black Power via the Armistad Digital Resource published by Columbia University
Cointelpro - PBS