LibGuides: Civics CBA: Assisted Suicide

Assisted Suicide

Guiding Questions

Should suicide be illegal or should assisted suicide be legalized?? Why or why not?

Should people assisting in suicide be prosecuted? Should medical professionals be prosecuted? Why or why not?

How is suicide viewed by our society?

At Life's End: Oregon's Suicide Option; The New York Times
Oregon's Death with Dignity Act allows physician-assisted suicide for terminally ill patients. This New York Times interactive feature contains audio and photographs by James Estrin of terminally ill Oregonians who are considering ending their lives.
Death with Dignity National Center; Death with Dignity National Center
The mission of the Death with Dignity National Center (DDNC) is to expand end-of-life choices and advance the legalization of physician aid in dying." (DDNC) This site extols the merits of what is commonly called physician-assisted suicide. It provides myths and truths, polling data, religions' positions, history and a timeline, and news about the subject. It also examines Oregon's Death with Dignity Act, which legalized physician-assisted suicide.
Physicians for Compassionate Care Educational Foundation Home Page; Physicians for Compassionate Care Educational Foundation (PCCEF)
"Physicians for Compassionate Care is an association of physicians and other health professionals dedicated to preserving the traditional relation of the physician and patient as one in which the physician's primary task is to heal the patient and to minimize pain." (PCCEF)

ebooks searchable using the search window above

Alternative Energy , 3v, 2007
American Decades , 10v, 2001
American Decades Primary Sources , 10v, 2004
Biotechnology: Changing Life Through Science , 3v, 2007
Checks and Balances: The Three Branches of the American Government , 3v, 2005
Cold War Reference Library , 6v, 2004
Constitutional Amendments: From Freedom of Speech to Flag Burning , 2nd ed., 3v, 2008
Copyright for Schools: A Practical Guide , 4th ed., 2005
Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States , 5v, 2008
Environmental Science: In Context , 2v, 2009
The Gale Encyclopedia of Science , 4th ed., 6v, 2008
Human and Civil Rights: Essential Primary Sources , 2007
Inventors and Inventions , 5v, 2008
Science and Its Times , 8v, 2001
Supreme Court Drama: Cases That Changed America , 4v, 2001
The U.S. Constitution A to Z , 2nd ed., 2008
UXL Encyclopedia of Diseases and Disorders , 5v, 2009
UXL Encyclopedia of Drugs and Addictive Substances , 5v, 2006

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, and links to websites - all on social issues - from 'Opposing Viewpoints' and other reference sources. Formerly Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center.

more...less...
You need your KCLS library card number and PIN to access this database.
Primary Source Reference Collection
Primary source-themed reference books from the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
more...less...
You need your KCLS library card number and PIN to access this database.