LibGuides: Civics CBA: U.S. War on Drugs

U.S. War on Drugs

Guiding Questions

Should the U.S. end its war on drugs by decriminalizing and regulating drugs?

Should governments continue to pursue the "supply-side" plan—trying to eliminate the source of drugs rather than the demand for them—as forcefully as they have been, or should a greater part of their focus be shifted to discouraging drug use? Explain your answer.

What do you believe the United States is justified in doing to countries deemed uncooperative in the war against illegal drugs?

Would economic development of the Latin American countries that produce drugs be an effective way of curbing the drug trade? Explain your answer.

"Drug Smuggling: Discussion Questions." Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society. ABC-CLIO, 2011. Web. 22 Nov. 2011.

ProQuest Staff. "At Issue: U.S. War on Drugs." ProQuest LLC. 2011: n.pag. SIRS Issues Researcher. Web. 22 Nov 2011.

Cyberbullying

SIRS: US War on Drugs

On the Web

Drug Wars; Frontline, Public Broadcasting Service (PBS)
FRONTLINE reports on America's war on illegal drugs, examining the drug policies, drug warriors and the global illegal drugs business. Through interviews with DEA agents, drug lords, drug smugglers and drug users, the four hour documentary traces the history of America's drug war and the social and political forces that shape it." (PBS) This is the online companion to the PBS documentary. This site requires the flash plug-in.
White House Office of National Drug Control Policy
Created in 1988, the Office of National Drug Control Policy (ONDCP) outlines the priorities and goals of the National Drug Control Strategy, as directed by the office of the president of the United States. The ONDCP coordinates actions related to international and domestic counterdrug policies with departments and agencies of the executive branch.
U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration
The mission of the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) is to enforce drug laws and regulations in the United States. A division of the Department of Justice, the DEA works with local, national, and foreign agencies to investigate and pursue individuals and groups involved in the growing, production, and distribution of illegal controlled substances.

SIRS

Gale Virtual Reference Library

ebooks searchable using the search window above

Alternative Energy , 3v, 2007
American Decades , 10v, 2001
American Decades Primary Sources , 10v, 2004
Biotechnology: Changing Life Through Science , 3v, 2007
Checks and Balances: The Three Branches of the American Government , 3v, 2005
Cold War Reference Library , 6v, 2004
Constitutional Amendments: From Freedom of Speech to Flag Burning , 2nd ed., 3v, 2008
Copyright for Schools: A Practical Guide , 4th ed., 2005
Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States , 5v, 2008
Environmental Science: In Context , 2v, 2009
The Gale Encyclopedia of Science , 4th ed., 6v, 2008
Human and Civil Rights: Essential Primary Sources , 2007
Inventors and Inventions , 5v, 2008
Science and Its Times , 8v, 2001
Supreme Court Drama: Cases That Changed America , 4v, 2001
The U.S. Constitution A to Z , 2nd ed., 2008
UXL Encyclopedia of Diseases and Disorders , 5v, 2009
UXL Encyclopedia of Drugs and Addictive Substances , 5v, 2006

KCLS: Proquest

Proquest Research Library
Proquest reference databases offer comprehensive publication collections, in both full-text and full page image, that meets a wide range of research demands. From general reference to advanced subject matter, ProQuest has it all.
more...less...
Each student account has a login that begins with a specific case-sensitive code that identifies our district: ASD (4080). This is followed by your student school-issued ID. There are no dashes or spaces.

Auburn School District: 4080 followed by your school ID number (Example: 4080654321)

The PIN is the last four digits of the student's ID number. (PIN: 4321)

Federal Laws and Policies

Federal Trafficking Penalties

KCLS Resources

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, and links to websites - all on social issues - from 'Opposing Viewpoints' and other reference sources. Formerly Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center.

more...less...
You need your KCLS library card number and PIN to access this database.
Primary Source Reference Collection
Primary source-themed reference books from the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
more...less...
You need your KCLS library card number and PIN to access this database.