LibGuides: Teaching and Learning with Primary Sources: Primary Sources Collections

Maps

David Rumsey's Historical Map Collection
This site presents more than 18,000 historical images, including maps and related cartographic items. Compiled by collector David Rumsey
Maps from the World Digital Library
Compiled by the Library of Congress.

World History

eWorld History
Timelines, biographies, essays, maps, and other resources on world history. Compiled by Ohio State University.

Duke Papyrus Archive
http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/papyrus/
This Duke University site offers electronic access to texts about and images of 1,373 papyri from ancient Egypt.

EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents from Western Europe
Documents focus on "key historical happenings within the respective countries." They are arranged by period and region.

European History Primary Sources (EHPS)
http://primary-sources.eui.eu
"An index of scholarly websites that offer online access to digitised primary sources on the history of Europe." You can follow on Facebook, Twitter, or obtain an RSS feed.

Internet Ancient History Sourcebook
http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/ancient/asbook.html
Covers Greece, ancient Rome and the near east, and Hellenism, just to name a few. Contains hundreds of local files, as well as links to primary sources throughout the net.

Internet History Sourcebooks Project
http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/
This page has links to several subsidiary sourcebooks: African, East Asian, Global, Indian, Jewish, Islamic, Lesbian/Gay, Science and Women.

Internet Medieval Sourcebook
http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/sbook.html
Largest collection of online medieval texts. Provides links to primary sources arranged according to type.

The Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies
http://labyrinth.georgetown.edu/
This site is sponsored by Georgetown University. Topics can by searched by category and limited to primary texts.

EuroDocs

Links to open access sources of European documents that are "transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated." Arranged by three broad chronological periods and by country/nation-state. Includes documents that shed light on historical, cultural, political, and economic history

European History Primary Sources

Provides online access to digital copies of European primary sources. Search by country, time period, language, subject, or type of source. Access to sources is free, but some sites may require registration.

Europeana

"Europeana is a single access point to millions of books, paintings, films, museum objects and archival records that have been digitised throughout Europe. It is an authoritative source of information coming from European cultural and scientific institutions."
From music to art nouveau, Eastern European wedding ceremonies to musical instruments, this site makes many aspects of European culture accessible to users.

Finding World History
Links to sites with primary sources in world history, organized by region and time period. A project of the Center for History and New Media, George Mason University.
Medieval and Modern Thought Text Digitization Project
A database of primary sources in the broad area of medieval and modern thought. Compiled by Stanford University.
Odyssey Online
Provides information on ancient history of the Near East, Egypt, Greece, Rome, and Africa, well illustrated with art and other artifacts. **
Perseus Digital Library
World history sources, as well as exhibits on Hercules and the ancient Olympics. Provided by Tufts University.

Library of Congress Collections

Primary Source Sets
Sets of selected primary sources on specific topics, available as easy-to-print PDFs. Also, background information, teaching ideas, and tools to guide student analysis.
Collection Connections
Historical context and ideas for teaching with specific Library of Congress primary source collections.
Pictorial America
Prints & Photographs Division staff have selected sets of images on frequently requested topics, focusing on images for which there are no known restrictions.

US History

100 Milestone Documents
A list of 100 milestone documents chronically United States History from 1776-1965. Compiled by the National Archives and Records Administration.

Ad*Access
This Duke University site is a collection of images from over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. The five main subject areas include: radio, television, transportation, beauty, hygiene, and World War II.

AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History
This University of Kansas site provides access to hundreds of important American history documents. Includes items from the 1400s to the present.

American Memory
From the Library of Congress, the American Memory project is a gateway to primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The site offers millions of items from more than 100 historical collections.

The Avalon Project
Maintained by the Yale Law School, this site contains digital documents in law, history, and government (pre-18th century to 20th century). Also provides links to supporting documents referred to in the body of the text.

Chronology of U.S. Historical Documents
Maintained by the University of Oklahoma College of Law. Begins with the pre-colonial era to the present.

Documenting the American South
Documenting the American South (DAS) is a collection of primary sources on Southern history, literature and
culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century.

Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement
Includes transcribed texts of more than 40 articles, pamphlets, flyers, and booklets, published between 1969-1974, which focus on the early years of the Women's Liberation Movement.

Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920
This Duke University site includes over 9,000 images relating to the early history of advertising in the United States.

Founders Early Access
Includes thousands of unpublished documents from our nation’s founders in a free online resource.

HarpWeek 1857-1877, Full Text
Provides scanned pages from Harper's Weekly between 1857 and 1877.

Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930 (Harvard University)

A web-based collection of historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression.

merican Social History (Mellon Foundation & University of Illinois)

This collection pertains to 19th and 20th century United States social history and contains digital content from over 175 American social history research collections, including books and pamphlets, journal articles, maps, sheet music, videos, data sets, political cartoons and posters, and oral histories.

Making of America
http:/moa.umdl.umich.edu/ OR http://cdl.library.cornell.edu/moa/
This collection has become one of the largest repositories of digitized texts on the web; it consists of full-text books and journal articles published between 1850 and 1877. The University of Michigan database offers 8500 books and 50,000 journal articles. Cornell University's database has 270 texts and 100,000 journal articles. Use both sites to see the entire collection.

National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)
The official depository for U.S. government materials. Search the Archival Research Catalog (ARC) for digital or non-digital sources. Provides digitized copies of the Declaration of Independence, the U.S. Constitution, and the Bill of Rights.

Conversations with History
Institute of International Studies at the University of California Berkeley provides more than 400 interviews with newsmakers, historians, artists, scientists, and others who created and observed that history. From the .
Densho: The Japanese American Legacy Project
The Cold War International History Project
This project of the Woodrow Wilson International Center for provides primary source materials from both sides involved in the Cold War.

Civics

Thomas (Library of Congress)
Legislative information including bills, congressional records, treaties, etc.

Washington State

Audio

Famous Speeches and Audio
More than 500 recordings from the 20th century. Provided by the History Channel
People's Century
Transcripts of interviews conducted with people who witnessed or took part in major events of the century.
Provided by PBS.
The National Jukebox
More than 10,000 78rpm disc sides issued between 1900 and 1925. Provided by the Victor Talking Machine Company

Video

Historic Newspapers

Historic American Newspapers
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Provided by the National Endowment for the Humanities external link and the Library of Congress.

Health and Fitness

Feeding America: The Historic American Cookbook Project (Michigan State University)

Collection of some of the most influential and important American cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century.

ABC-CLIO

ABC-CLIO Access sources of information covering the explorers of the Americas to the issues of today’s headlines, American History investigates the people, events, and stories of our nation’s evolution.

American Government

U.S. at War
American History
World Geography
World History: Ancient/Medieval & Modern
Social Issues

To access from home, see a librarian at ARHS for the username and password.