ABC-CLIO Access sources of information covering the U.S. at War, American History, World Geography, World History, & Social Issues.To access from home, see a librarian at ARHS for the username and password.
| ebooks searchable using the search window above |
Topic Overviews and Background Information
Warsaw Pact
The Warsaw Treaty Organization, 1955 an article from the from the U.S. Department of State's Office of the Historian
NATO
Topic Overview and Background Information
The History of the North Atlantic Treaty Organisation a unit of study including primary sources from the History Study Center Database
The Development of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) via the The Harry S. Truman Library and Museum which includes links to primary source documents
North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), 1949 an article from the from the U.S. Department of State's Office of the Historian
Primay Sources
Telegram, dated June 25, 1948, by Alfred M. Bingham, et al. to President Harry S. Truman (Bingham was chairman of the American Association for a Democratic Germany. He and his co-authors were prominent liberals whose support Truman believed would be important in the upcoming 1948 presidential election.)
CIA memorandum, dated June 30, 1948, for President Harry S. Truman from Rear Admiral, U.S. Navy, R.H. Hillenkoetter, Director of the CIATop Secret report, dated July 28, 1948, titled "U.S. Military Courses of Action with Respect to the Situation in Berlin" (This report was prepared by the Secretary of Defense, James V. Forrestal, for the National Security Council.)
Explanations about the primary sources above are provided here: http://edsitement.neh.gov/sites/edsitement.neh.gov/files/worksheets/ColdWar03.pdf
Newspaper editorial, "West Can Pull Out of Berlin Proudly," Los Angeles Times, September 12, 1948
Speech on the North Atlantic Treaty by Sen. Robert A. Taft (R-OH), July 26, 1949
Tet Offensive via the Cold War Museum
Tet Offensive: A Complicated Story Simplifed including primary sources on TeachingHistory.org
FOREIGN RELATIONS OF THE UNITED STATES, 1964–1968, VOLUME VI, VIETNAM, JANUARY–AUGUST 1968, found on the U.S. Department of State's Office of the Historian
Anti-war protest: Vietnam on the home front a unit of study including primary sources from the History Study Center Database
Primary Sources compiled by Digital History
Anti-war Movement in the United States published from The Oxford Companion to American Military History posted by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Antiwar and Radical History Project – Pacific Northwest via Harry Bridges Center for Labor Studies
Airlift to Wounded Knee, a memoir by Bill Zimmerman
The Fish Wars: Fighting As Northwest Salmon Run Dry - KUOW Seattle News & Information
The Fish-in Protests at Franks Landing - Seattle Civil Rights & Labor History Project at the University of Washington
Pacific Northwest Salmon Habitat: The Culvert Case and the Power of Treaties - Enduring Legacies Native Case Studies at The Evergreen State College
Understanding Tribal Treaty Rights in Western Washington - Northwest Indian Fisheries Commission
Treaties - Northwest Indian Fisheries Commission
KCLS Database, Historical Newspaper: The New York Times Log On using KCLS student ID and Pin *(Username: 4080 followed by ARHS 6 digit ID nuumer, Password: last four digits of ARHS 6 digit ID number)
Topic Overviews and Background Information
JFK in History: Space Program a brief essay on the Space Program, and find key speeches presented by President Kennedy in both audio and text formats.
The Space Race a unit of study including primary sources from the History Study Center Database
Primary Sources
Memorandum of a Conference with President Eisenhower after Sputnik via the U.S. National Archives
Telegram to Premier Khrushchev, April 12, 1961 from President Kennedy congratulating the Soviet Union on the first manned space flight, April 12, 1961.
Memorandum to Vice President Johnson, April 20, 1961 from President Kennedy's Memorandum, instructing Vice President Johnson to evaluate the U.S. space program.
Vice President Johnson's response, April 28, 1961 to President Kennedy discussion of the importance and status of the U.S. space program.
Special Message to Congress on Urgent National Needs, 25 May 1961 (Audio)
Topic Overview and Background Information
Bay of Pigs: 40 years after The National Security Archive site provides a thorough history of the Bay of Pigs invasion with links to full-text documents and audio recordings.
Bay of Pigs Reports The CIA's Popular Documents Collection includes the Bay of Pigs Reports on high-level government self-evaluation of its performance in an historic and controversial event.
The Bay of Pigs Invasion Featured story on the CIA website.
The CIA's Internal Probe of the Bay of Pigs Affair
Created by Michael Warner, this CIA website focuses on the CIA inquiry into the government's handling of the Cuban Bay of Pigs operation.
Bay of Pigs Website from the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library describing the invasion. Links to documents are included.
Report to the President's Foreign Intelligence Advisory Board on Intelligence Community Activities Relating to the Cuban Arms Build-Up (14 April through 14 October 1962) by the Director of Central Intelligence
Digitized version of the declassified report by the CIA.
To the Brink: JFK and the Cuban Missile Crisis
The National Archives Foundation presents this multimedia exhibit which includes documents, videos, and photographs.
Article from History.com - Riots Erupt in Los Angeles
Military Operations in Los Angeles, 1992
2:35 minute video from CBS News: In History: LA Riots
1992: LA in Flames in 'not guilty' verdict article from the BBC with two videos for viewing
Jimmy Carter and the Iranian Hostage Crisis from the White House Historical Association
No Islands of Stability via Digital History
Iranian Hostage Crisis via PBS
Primary Sources
20 Years after the Hostages: Declassified Documents on Iran and the United States from the National Security Archive
The Gulf Wars, an article published in the book, Middle East Conflict Reference Library
The Gulf War, 1991 a unit of study including primary sources from the History Study Center Database
Hussein, Saddam, and article published in the book, Middle East Conflict Reference Library
Primary Scources
Operation Desert Storm: Ten Years Later from the National Security Archive
The President's News Conference on the Persian Gulf Conflict, 1991-01-18 from the American Presidency Project, University of Santa Barbara
Remarks and a Question-and-Answer Session With Reporters in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia, Following Discussions With Amir Jabir al-Ahmad al-Jabir Al Sabah of Kuwait 1990-11-21 from the American Presidency Project, University of Santa Barbara
Address Before a Joint Session of the Congress on the State of the Union 1991-01-29 from the American Presidency Project, University of Santa Barbara
Photos at Time
Article from the New York Times
Oklahoma City Bombing: Is History Repeating Itself Today? published by Christian Science Moniters
Timeline: Guatemala's History of Violence
Primary Sources
CIA and Assassinations: The Guatemala 1954 Documents via National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Book No. 4
Personal Political Orientation of President Arbenz /Possibility of a left-wing coup This excerpt is from the official CIA document, titled “Personal Political Orientation of President Arbenz/Possibility of a Left Wing Coup.” The Central Intelligence Agency was formed in 1947 through the National Security Act, in response to the rising threat of communism worldwide. The CIA began its investigation of Guatemalan President Jacobo Arbenz as soon as he took office in 1950.
American Ambassador to Guatemala, John E. Peurifoy’s telegram to Department of State, Dispatch No.522, December 18th, 1953 Educational materials developed through the Baltimore County History Labs Program, a partnership between Baltimore County Public Schools
and the UMBC Center for History Education.
President Arbenz’s Resignation Speech Educational materials developed through the Baltimore County History Labs Program, a partnership between Baltimore County Public Schools and the UMBC Center for History Education.
Secretary of State John F. Dulles, Radio Address, 1954 Educational materials developed through the Baltimore County History Labs Program, a partnership between Baltimore County Public Schools and the UMBC Center for History Education.
Sources from the Gale Virtural Reference Library
The Cuban Missile Crisis a unit of study including primary sources from the History Study Center Database.
Primary Sources
Nikita Khrushchev's to President Kenney
The Cuban Missle Crisis via the National Security Archive.
Documents related to the Cuban Missile Crisis made available on the National Security Agency website.
Nation: FBI v. Jean Seberg - TIME
Black Power: Race and race relations 1968- a unit of study including primary sources from the History Study Center Database.
Black Power via the Armistad Digital Resource published by Columbia University
Cointelpro - PBS
Article, Watts, published in book America Decades
Urban Unrest and Socioeconomic Conditions via the Armistad Digital Resource published by Columbia University (includes a primary source)
Watts Riots - PBS
President Johnson and Martin Luther King Jr. on the Watts Riots - Miller Center at the University of Virgina
On Feb. 29, 1968, President Johnson's National Advisory Commission on Civil Disorders (also known as the Kerner Commission) warned that racism was causing America to move "toward two societies, one black, one white -- separate and unequal." New York Times article
REPORT OF THE NATIONAL ADVISORY COMMISSION ON CIVIL DISORDERS - The Eisenhower Foundation
In a September 2011 Times op-ed, professors Desmond S. King and Rogers M. Smith, authors of “Still a House Divided: Race and Politics in Obama’s America,” argue that many of today’s politicians ignore racial issues facing the country and are not adequately addressing the problems faced by minorities.
In February 2008, the Foundation released a forty year update of the Kerner Riot Commission. Click here to read the Executive Summary of the Foundation's preliminary findings, revised after the November 4, 2008 Presidential election. - The Eisenhower Foundation
Sexual Orienation and the Stonewall Riots. This article is published in the book, Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States.
Stonewall and the struggle for gay and lesbian rights a unit of study including primary sources from the History Study Center Database.
Stonewall Uprising -PBS, includes primary sources
Taking a Closer Look
9/11 Attacks via The New York Times
Foundation of the New Terrorism
Other Readings from the The National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States Qutb's Views on Jews and Christians as Reflected in His Koran Commentary by Michael Ebstein
Shaking Hands with Saddam Hussein: The U.S. Tilts toward Iraq, 1980 0 1984 from National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Book No. 82
Primary Sources
Interview with Osama bin Laden 1998
Wrath of God - Time Interview with Osama bin Laden, January 11, 1999
Interviews Conducted in Early 1998 and 1999 Following the Bombings of Two U.S. Embassies in East Africa via PBS:Frontline
The Trail of Evidence Primary Source Documents via KCLS
Testimony of Attorney General John Ashcroft, The National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States, April 13, 2004 Statement of Stephen Push to the National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States, March 31, 2003
Pakistan's Bin Laden Policy - Declassified Documents Show Pakistani Refusal to Help Apprehend Terrorist before 9/11 from the National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Book No. 344
The Osama Bin Laden File from the National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Book No. 343
