This is the "Databases and other Library Resources" page of the "Research Using Our Databases and the Web" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research Using Our Databases and the Web  

Last Updated: May 4, 2017 URL: http://auburn.wednet.libguides.com/databasesandtheweb Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases and other Library Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Hot Topic

 

SIRS

 

King County Library Databases

Reference Soruces (Encyclopedias)

Britannica Online
Articles, illustrations, definitions and weblinks from Encyclopedia Britannica, Britannica Intermediate (grades 5 and up), Britannica's Internet Guide, and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus. [ World Languages Options ]

World Book Online
Articles, illustrations, definitions and multimedia content from World Book.

Newspapers

19th Century US Newspapers
Full-text articles from a wide range of 19th century newspapers.

New York Times Historical
Articles from New York Daily Times (1851-1857) and New York Times (1857-2001). Viewing requires Adobe Acrobat.

Newspaper Archive
Full-text articles from a wide range of historical newspapers. [ World Languages Options ]

PressDisplay.com
Full view newspapers from 50+ countries with 30+ languages represented. Newspapers include up to 2 months of back coverage. [ World Languages Options ]

Journal Articles

Expanded Academic ASAP
Articles from 1,900+ academic journals. [ World Languages Options ]

Controversial Issues

CQ Researcher
In-depth information on current and controversial topics.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, and links to websites - all on social issues - from 'Opposing Viewpoints' and other reference sources. Formerly Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center.

History

African American Experience
Encyclopedia articles, primary documents (manuscripts, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, etc), interviews and journal articles exploring the African American experience.

American History Reference Collection
American history-themed reference books from the Gale Virtual Reference Library. [ World Languages Options ]

American Indian History & Culture
Articles, biographies, images and primary source documents detailing the Native American experience.

Daily Life Through History
Articles, maps, charts, primary documents and teacher lesson plans focusing on daily life in world cultures.

Fashion & Costume Reference Collection
Fashion & costume-themed reference books from the Gale Virtual Reference Library. [ World Languages Options ]

Historical Statistics of the United States
Statistics from 1000+ sources (37,000 data series), all with PDF and CSV export functionality.

Latino American Experience
Encyclopedia articles, primary documents (manuscripts, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, etc), interviews and journal articles exploring the Latino American experience.

Pop Culture Universe
Articles, images, and features on American and world popular culture, past and present.

Popular Culture Reference Collection
Pop culture-themed reference books from the Gale Virtual Reference Library. [ World Languages Options ]

World History Reference Collection
World history-themed reference books from the Gale Virtual Reference Library. [ World Languages Options ]

Science

Science Online
Science-oriented diagrams, experiments, essays, definitions, and biographies.

 

eLibrary

 

What Database Do You Want to Search?

 

School Library Journal

 

Library Journal

 

USA Today

 

Newsweek

 

Encyclopedia.com

 

Proquest

Proquest reference databases offer comprehensive publication collections, in both full-text and full page image, that meets a wide range of research demands. From general reference to advanced subject matter, ProQuest has it all.
To access from home, use this link Proquest and see a librarian at ARHS for username & password. Hint: The username and password is the same for all the other databases minus the underscore in the Username.
 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

ebooks searchable using the search window above
  • Alternative Energy , 3v,  2007
  • American Decades , 10v,  2001
  • American Decades Primary Sources , 10v,  2004
  • Biotechnology: Changing Life Through Science , 3v,  2007
  • Checks and Balances: The Three Branches of the American Government , 3v,  2005
  • Cold War Reference Library , 6v,  2004
  • Constitutional Amendments: From Freedom of Speech to Flag Burning , 2nd ed.,  3v,  2008
  • Copyright for Schools: A Practical Guide , 4th ed.,  2005
  • Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States , 5v,  2008
  • Environmental Science: In Context , 2v,  2009
  • The Gale Encyclopedia of Science , 4th ed.,  6v,  2008
  • Human and Civil Rights: Essential Primary Sources , 2007
  • Inventors and Inventions , 5v,  2008
  • Science and Its Times , 8v,  2001
  • Supreme Court Drama: Cases That Changed America , 4v,  2001
  • The U.S. Constitution A to Z , 2nd ed.,  2008
  • UXL Encyclopedia of Diseases and Disorders , 5v,  2009
  • UXL Encyclopedia of Drugs and Addictive Substances , 5v,  2006
 

ABC-CLIO

  ABC-CLIO Access sources of information covering the explorers of the Americas to the issues of today’s headlines, American History investigates the people, events, and stories of our nation’s evolution.

American Government

  • U.S. at War
  • American History
  • World Geography
  • World History: Ancient/Medieval & Modern
  • Social Issues

To access from home, see a librarian at ARHS for the username and password.

 

CultureGrams

 

Destiny Catalog

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search

Feeling Social? Click Here to Search Using Destiny Quest

From Desktop
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip