LibGuides: Civics CBA: Gay Adoption

Gay Adoption

Guiding Questions

Should gays and lesbians be allowed to adopt children?

Do you think homosexual couples should have the right to be parents? Why or why not?

Can parents influence their children's sexual preference? Why or why not?

What are some of the possible disadvantages that gay parents could face?

"Gay Parenting: Discussion Questions." Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society. ABC-CLIO, 2011. Web. 22 Nov. 2011.

ProQuest Staff. "At Issue: Gay Adoption." ProQuest LLC. 2011: n.pag. SIRS Issues Researcher. Web. 22 Nov 2011.

Daddy & Papa; Public Broadcasting Service (PBS)
DADDY & PAPA is a documentary that explores the personal, cultural and political ramifications of the growing number of gay men who are making a decision that is at once traditional and revolutionary: to become dads." (PBS) This companion site to the documentary introduces the four families from the film, including the director/producer of the film. Learn more about filmmaker Johnny Symons through a biography and interview.
Online NewsHour: The Battle over Same-Sex Marriage
Online NewsHour's Web page dedicated to examining the debate over same-sex marriage, including such issues as a constitutional amendment banning gay marriage and state legislation regarding gay marriage.
National Gay and Lesbian Task Force
The National Gay and Lesbian Task Force, established in 1973, is one of the oldest gay rights organizations in the United States.
Institute for Marriage and Public Policy
The Institute for Marriage and Public Policy is a nonprofit organization that conducts research related to marriage and family policy. Among its many issues, the organization opposes same-sex marriage.
Gay and Lesbian Advocates and Defenders (GLAD)
Gay and Lesbian Advocates and Defenders, founded in 1978, is a non-profit legal organization focused on defending the rights of the gay and lesbian community.

ebooks searchable using the search window above

Alternative Energy , 3v, 2007
American Decades , 10v, 2001
American Decades Primary Sources , 10v, 2004
Biotechnology: Changing Life Through Science , 3v, 2007
Checks and Balances: The Three Branches of the American Government , 3v, 2005
Cold War Reference Library , 6v, 2004
Constitutional Amendments: From Freedom of Speech to Flag Burning , 2nd ed., 3v, 2008
Copyright for Schools: A Practical Guide , 4th ed., 2005
Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States , 5v, 2008
Environmental Science: In Context , 2v, 2009
The Gale Encyclopedia of Science , 4th ed., 6v, 2008
Human and Civil Rights: Essential Primary Sources , 2007
Inventors and Inventions , 5v, 2008
Science and Its Times , 8v, 2001
Supreme Court Drama: Cases That Changed America , 4v, 2001
The U.S. Constitution A to Z , 2nd ed., 2008
UXL Encyclopedia of Diseases and Disorders , 5v, 2009
UXL Encyclopedia of Drugs and Addictive Substances , 5v, 2006

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, and links to websites - all on social issues - from 'Opposing Viewpoints' and other reference sources. Formerly Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center.

more...less...
You need your KCLS library card number and PIN to access this database.
Primary Source Reference Collection
Primary source-themed reference books from the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
more...less...
You need your KCLS library card number and PIN to access this database.