Skip to Main Content

Ancient Civilizations: Ancient China

China: Ancient History & Culture Web Resources

Accomplishments of the Ancient Chinese
ThoughtCo
Ancient China
World History Encyclopedia
Ancient China
British Museum
Ancient Chinese Architecture
World History Encyclopedia
Ancient Chinese Calligraphy
World History Encyclopedia
Ancient Japanese & Chinese Relations
World History Encyclopedia
Chinese Literature
World History Encyclopedia
China’s “Golden Age”: The Song, the Mongols, and the Ming Voyages
Asia for Educators. Columbia U
Chinese Dynasty Guide
Art of Asia
The Civil Service Examinations of Imperial China
World History Encyclopedia
Daily Life in Ancient China
World History Encyclopedia
Dogs in Ancient China
World History Encyclopedia
The Emergence of Modern China
U of Maryland. Through the Opium War (1842)
Exploring Chinese History
Richard R Wertz
Foot-Binding
World History Encyclopedia
Great Wall of China
World History Encyclopedia
History Timeline
U of Maryland. Click the links for more information.
In Pictures: China's New Terracotta Warriors
BBC
Key Points in the Development of East Asia
Asia for Educators. Columbia University
Overview of the History and Civilization of Ancient China
TimeMaps
Primary Source Documents
Asia for Educators
Tea in Ancient China & Japan
World History Encyclopedia
Warfare in Ancient China
World History Encyclopedia
Warring States Period
World History Encyclopedia
Women in Ancient China
World History Encyclopedia
Yin Yu Tang: A Chinese House
Peabody Essex Museum

Chinese Dynasties

Chinese Dynasty Guide
Art of Asia
Annotated Chronological Outline of Chinese History
Asia for Educators
Timeline of Chinese History and Dynasties
Columbia University
List of Rulers of China
The Met. Heinlbrunn Timeline of Art History
Ancient Dynasties
U of Maryland
Xia Dynasty - 2070-1600 BCE
World History Encyclopedia
Shang Dynasty - 1600-1046 BCE
World History Encyclopedia
Shang Dynasty 商 (17th-11th cent. BCE)
ChinaKnowledge.de
Zhou Dynasty 周 (11th cent.-221 BCE)
ChinaKnowledge.de
Zhou Dynasty - 1046-256 BCE
World History Encyclopedia
The Zhou Dynasty, Confucius, and China’s Philosophic Traditions
Asia for Educators. Columbia U
Qin Dynasty 秦 (221-206 BCE)
ChinaKnowledge.de
Qin Dynasty - 221-206 BCE
World History Encyclopedia
The Early Chinese Empire: The Qin and the Han
Asia for Educators. Columbia U
The Imperial Eras
U of Maryland
Han Dynasty - 206 BCE-220 CE
World History Encyclopedia
Timeline of China's "Period of Disunity," 220-589 CE
Asia for Educators. Columbia U
Sui Dynasty - 581-618 CE
World History Encyclopedia
Tang Dynasty - 618-907 CE
World History Encyclopedia
The Tang Empire (618-907)
Asia for Educators. Columbia U
Song Dynasty - 960 to 1279 CE
World History Encyclopedia
Yuan Dynasty - 1271 to 1368 CE
World History Encyclopedia
Mongol Empire
World History Encyclopedia
Genghis Khan
World History Encyclopedia
Kublai Khan
World History Encyclopedia
Ming Dynasty - 1368 to 1644 CE
World History Encyclopedia
China: The Ming (1368-1644) and the Qing (1644-1912)
Asia for Educators. Columbia U

Videos to Watch

China - Religion & Philosophy

3,000 Ancient Buddhas
National Geographic
100 Schools of Thought
Exploring Chinese History - Culture - Philosophy
Ancient Chinese Philosophy
World History Encyclopedia
Basics of Buddhism
PBS
Confucius (551—479 B.C.E.)
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Confucius Quotes
Quotations Page
Laozi (Lao-tzu, fl. 6th cn. B.C.E.)
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Laozi
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Legalism
Exploring Chinese History - Culture - Philosophy
Legalism in Ancient China
Ancient Standard
Sun-Tzu
World History Encyclopedia