ABC-CLIO Access sources of information covering the explorers of the Americas to the issues of today’s headlines, American History investigates the people, events, and stories of our nation’s evolution.
American Government
To access from home, see a librarian at ARHS for the username and password.
| ebooks searchable using the search window above |
|
Topic Overviews and Background Information
Memorandum of a Conference with President Eisenhower after Sputnik via the U.S. National Archives
Brown v. Board of Education: Virginia Responds, on online exhibition fromt the The Library of Virginia
Primary Sources made avialable by The Dwight D. Eisenhower Presidential Library and Museum
Related Materials to Brown v. Board of Education via The Library of Congress
Sources from the Gale Virtural Reference Library
Nikita Khrushchev's to President Kenney
Documents related to the Cuban Missile Crisis made available on the National Security Agency website
Topic Overview and Background Information
Bay of Pigs: 40 years after The National Security Archive site provides a thorough history of the Bay of Pigs invasion with links to full-text documents and audio recordings.
Bay of Pigs Reports The CIA's Popular Documents Collection includes the Bay of Pigs Reports on high-level government self-evaluation of its performance in an historic and controversial event.
The CIA's Internal Probe of the Bay of Pigs Affair
Created by Michael Warner, this CIA website focuses on the CIA inquiry into the government's handling of the Cuban Bay of Pigs operation.
Topic overviews as well as the Ronald Reagan's "Address to the Nation on the Meetings with Soviet General Secretary Gorbachev in Iceland, October 13, 1986"
The Gulf Wars, an article published in the book, Middle East Conflict Reference Library
Hussein, Saddam, and article published in the book, Middle East Conflict Reference Library
Primary Sources from the World War II Conferences
Topic Overview and Background Information
Primary Sources
"We Must Keep the Labor Unions Clean": "Friendly" HUAC Witnesses Ronald Reagan and Walt Disney Blame Hollywood Labor Conflicts on Communist Infiltration:
"A Damaging Impression of Hollywood Has Spread": Movie "Czar" Eric Johnston Testifies before HUAC: http://historymatters.gmu.edu/d/6443
"They Want to Muzzle Public Opinion": John Howard Lawson's Warning to the American Public: http://historymatters.gmu.edu/d/6441
(Note: Part of Lawson's testimony is available in audio format at the site Authentic History:
"The World Was at Stake": Three "Friendly" HUAC Hollywood Witnesses Assess Pro-Soviet Wartime Films (Jack L. Warner, Louis B. Mayer, Miss Ayn Rand):
Topic Overview and Background Information
The Development of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) via the The Harry S. Truman Library and Museum which includes links to primary source documents
CBA, Causes of Conflict: U-2 Spy Plane Incident
U-2 Overflights and the Capture of Francis Gary Powers, 1960 - Office of the Historian, Bureau of Public Affairs, United States Department of State
Primary Sources
Memorandum, telegrams, and other primary sources - The Dwight D. Eisenhower Presidential Library and Museum