Skip to Main Content

Causes of Conflict CBA for Mr. McKeehan: Vietnam War

ABC-CLIO

  ABC-CLIO Access sources of information covering the explorers of the Americas to the issues of today’s headlines, American History investigates the people, events, and stories of our nation’s evolution.

American Government

  • U.S. at War
  • American History
  • World Geography
  • World History: Ancient/Medieval & Modern
  • Social Issues

To access from home, see a librarian at ARHS for the username and password.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

ebooks searchable using the search window above
  • Alternative Energy , 3v,  2007
  • American Decades , 10v,  2001
  • American Decades Primary Sources , 10v,  2004
  • Biotechnology: Changing Life Through Science , 3v,  2007
  • Checks and Balances: The Three Branches of the American Government , 3v,  2005
  • Cold War Reference Library , 6v,  2004
  • Constitutional Amendments: From Freedom of Speech to Flag Burning , 2nd ed.,  3v,  2008
  • Copyright for Schools: A Practical Guide , 4th ed.,  2005
  • Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States , 5v,  2008
  • Environmental Science: In Context , 2v,  2009
  • The Gale Encyclopedia of Science , 4th ed.,  6v,  2008
  • Human and Civil Rights: Essential Primary Sources , 2007
  • Inventors and Inventions , 5v,  2008
  • Science and Its Times , 8v,  2001
  • Supreme Court Drama: Cases That Changed America , 4v,  2001
  • The U.S. Constitution A to Z , 2nd ed.,  2008
  • UXL Encyclopedia of Diseases and Disorders , 5v,  2009
  • UXL Encyclopedia of Drugs and Addictive Substances , 5v,  2006

Global Issues in Context

Resources

The Wars for Vietnam from 1945 - 1975 from Vassar College

Vietnam War Online via PBS

The History Place presents the Vietnam War

The Causes of the Vietnam War repritned from The Oxford Companion to American Military History Why Vietnam? via the website Digital History

http://www.digitalhistory.uh.edu/learning_history/vietnam/vietnam_where.cfm

KLCS American Experience: Vietnam Primary Sources

Primar Source Documnets via KLCS

The Vietnam Center and Archive
 

Access the articles bookmarked by your teacher-librarian, Mrs. Gallinatti by clicking on the link below.or clicking on the indiviual links found on this page.
http://find.galegroup.com/gic/infomark.do?markListId=106461&type=markList&prodId=GIC&version=1.0&userGroupName=auburn_rhs&source=gale

"Le Ly Hayslip." Vietnam War Reference Library. Ed. Kevin Hillstrom, Laurie Collier Hillstrom, and Diane Sawinski. Vol. 4. Detroit: U*X*L, 2001. 133-146. Global Issues In Context. Web. 11 May 2010.Document URL
http://find.galegroup.com/gic/infomark.do?&contentSet=EBKS&type=retrieve&tabID=T0011&prodId=GIC&docId=CX3411600125&source=gale&userGroupName=auburn_rhs&version=1.0
Veale, Scott. "American Tragedy: Kennedy, Johnson, and the Origins of the Vietnam War. (New & Noteworthy Paperbacks)." The New York Times Book Review 3 Feb. 2002: 32. Global Issues In Context. Web. 11 May 2010.Document URL
http://find.galegroup.com/gic/infomark.do?&contentSet=IAC-Documents&type=retrieve&tabID=T003&prodId=GIC&docId=A82574100&source=gale&userGroupName=auburn_rhs&version=1.0
"Vietnam War." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences. Ed. William Darity, Jr. 2nd ed. Vol. 8. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2008. 612-617. Global Issues In Context. Web. 11 May 2010.Document URL
http://find.galegroup.com/gic/infomark.do?&contentSet=EBKS&type=retrieve&tabID=T001&prodId=GIC&docId=CX3045302901&source=gale&userGroupName=auburn_rhs&version=1.0
"Vietnam War (1959–1975)." Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. History: War. Vol. 2. Detroit: Thomson Gale, 2008. Global Issues In Context. Web. 11 May 2010.Document URL
http://find.galegroup.com/gic/infomark.do?&contentSet=EBKS&type=retrieve&tabID=T001&prodId=GIC&docId=CX3048500026&source=gale&userGroupName=auburn_rhs&version=1.0
"Vietnam War." Encyclopedia of Modern Europe: Europe Since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction. Vol. 5. Charles Scribner's Sons, 2006. 2648-2651. Global Issues In Context. Web. 11 May 2010.Document URL
http://find.galegroup.com/gic/infomark.do?&contentSet=EBKS&type=retrieve&tabID=T001&prodId=GIC&docId=CX3447000887&source=gale&userGroupName=auburn_rhs&version=1.0
Mishra, Patit Paban. "Vietnam–United States Relations." Encyclopedia of Modern Asia. Ed. David Levinson and Karen Christensen. Vol. 6. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2002. 82-86. Global Issues In Context. Web. 11 May 2010.Document URL
http://find.galegroup.com/gic/infomark.do?&contentSet=EBKS&type=retrieve&tabID=T001&prodId=GIC&docId=CX3403703157&source=gale&userGroupName=auburn_rhs&version=1.0
"Early American Involvement in Vietnam (1954–62)." Vietnam War Reference Library. Ed. Kevin Hillstrom, Laurie Collier Hillstrom, and Diane Sawinski. Vol. 3. Detroit: U*X*L, 2001. 37-59. Global Issues In Context. Web. 11 May 2010.Document URL
http://find.galegroup.com/gic/infomark.do?&contentSet=EBKS&type=retrieve&tabID=T001&prodId=GIC&docId=CX3411600091&source=gale&userGroupName=auburn_rhs&version=1.0
"Vietnam Causes: How did the United States Get Involved in the Vietnam War?" History in Dispute. Ed. Robert Allison. Vol. 2: American Social and Political Movements, 1945-2000: Pursuit of Liberty. Detroit: St. James Press, 2000. 263-269. Global Issues In Context. Web. 11 May 2010.Document URL
http://find.galegroup.com/gic/infomark.do?&contentSet=EBKS&type=retrieve&tabID=T001&prodId=GIC&docId=CX2876200041&source=gale&userGroupName=auburn_rhs&version=1.0

The Vietnam War

KCLS Resources

New York Times Historical Newspapers - Articles from New York Daily Times (1851-1857) and New York Times (1857-2001). Viewing requires Adobe Acrobat.

Newspaper Archive  - Full-text articles from a wide range of historical newspapers. [ World Languages Options ]

African American Experience - Encyclopedia articles, primary documents (manuscripts, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, etc), interviews and journal articles exploring the African American experience.

American Indian History & Culture - Articles, biographies, images and primary source documents detailing the Native American experience.