ABC-CLIO Access sources of information covering the U.S. at War, American History, World Geography, World History, & Social Issues.To access from home, see a librarian at ARHS for the username and password.
| ebooks searchable using the search window above |
Take a Closer Look
The Cold War Continued: Nuclear Arms Race, Arms Control, and Détente - American Decades. Ed. Judith S. Baughman, et al. Vol. 7: 1960-1969. Detroit: Gale, 2001
Dawning of the Nuclear Age - Cold War Reference Library. Ed. Richard C. Hanes, Sharon M. Hanes, and Lawrence W. Baker. Vol. 1: Almanac Volume 1. Detroit: UXL, 2004. 79-97
Renewed Tensions - Cold War Reference Library. Ed. Richard C. Hanes, Sharon M. Hanes, and Lawrence W. Baker. Vol. 2: Almanac Volume 2. Detroit: UXL, 2004. 191-212.
Mutual Assured Destruction - Cold War Reference Library. Ed. Richard C. Hanes, Sharon M. Hanes, and Lawrence W. Baker. Vol. 2: Almanac Volume 2. Detroit: UXL, 2004. 233-249.
Primary Sources
Documents via PBS: American Experience, Race for the Super Bomb
Dwight D. Eisenhower - Excerpt from "Peaceful Uses of Atomic Energy" Speech before the General Assembly of the United Nations, New York City, December 8, 1953
"Should America Build the H Bomb? - American Decades Primary Sources. In this excerpt from his essay "Should America Build the H Bomb?" Harold Urey (Discovered deuterium, a heavy isotope of hydrogen which won him the 1934 Nobel Prize in chemistry) concludes that the United States must develop the hydrogen bomb.
School Desegregation Movement: Brown vs. The Board Of Education from the Armistad Digital Resource sponsored by Columbia University (includes primary sources)
"With in Even Hand" an online Library of Congress exhibition
Brown v. Board of Education: Virginia Responds, on online exhibition fromt the The Library of Virginia
Related Materials to Brown v. Board of Education via The Library of Congress
Brown v. Board of Educatjion published by the National Park Service (after reading the article, scroll down to the bottom the page for other helpful links)
Documents related to Brown v. Board of Education via The U.S. National Archives
“In the Shadow of Society”: Migrant Workers and Unionists Urge Congress to Enact Effective Federal Farm Labor Regulations via History Matters
“The Cycle of Poverty”: Mexican-American Migrant Farmworkers Testify before Congress via History Matters
Mirgrant Farm Worker Today
 |
|
Topic Overviews and Background Information
Primary Sources
Topic Overviews, Background Information, and Biographies
The Korean War, 1950–1953 an article from the from the U.S. Department of State's Office of the Historian (This article has been removed pending review to ensure it meets their standards for accuracy and clarity)The Korean War: An Overview by the BBC
The Korean War a unit of study including primary sources from the History Study Center Database.
Primay Sources
Memos, telegrams, position statements, etc. made available on the Truman Library website
Teaching With Documents: The United States Enters the Korean Conflict via the National Archives
Foreign Relations of the United States, 1950, Korea, Volume VII primary sources from the U.S. Department of State's Office of the Historian
Take a Closer Look
Birmingham Campaign of 1963 via the Alabama Encylopedia sponsered by Alabama University
The Birmingham Desegregation Campaign via the Armistad Digital Resource published by Columbia University
Primary Sources
Letter from a Birmingham Jail, Martin Luther King, Jr., 1963
"Telegram from L.H. Foster 05/13/63," Alabama Governor Wallace Administrative files, SG12655, folder 3, Alabama Department of Archives and History, Montgomery, Alabama.
"Telegram from George Andrews 05/13/63," Alabama Governor Wallace Administrative files, SG12655, folder 3, Alabama Department of Archives and History, Montgomery, Alabama.
"Telegram from NBC News 05/16/63," Alabama Governor Wallace Administrative files, SG12655, folder 6, Alabama Department of Archives and History, Montgomery, Alabama.
"Telegram from Wallace to The President 05/13/63," Alabama Governor Wallace Administrative files, SG12655, folder 3, Alabama Department of Archives and History, Montgomery, Alabama.
"Telegram from Mayor Boutwell 05/28/63," Alabama Governor Wallace Administrative files, SG12655, folder 5, Alabama Department of Archives and History, Montgomery, Alabama.
"Documents on Human Rights in Alabama," Alabama Governor Wallace Administrative files, SG12655, folder 6, Alabama Department of Archives and History, Montgomery, Alabama.
Take a Closer Look
Topic Overview and Background Information on the HUC and the Hollywood Ten
The Hollywood Ten in History and Memory, an article in the journal, Film History, published in 2004. This has been made available on the DiscovertheNetworks.org site.
Primary Sources
"We Must Keep the Labor Unions Clean": "Friendly" HUAC Witnesses Ronald Reagan and Walt Disney Blame Hollywood Labor Conflicts on Communist Infiltration:
"A Damaging Impression of Hollywood Has Spread": Movie "Czar" Eric Johnston Testifies before HUAC: http://historymatters.gmu.edu/d/6443
"They Want to Muzzle Public Opinion": John Howard Lawson's Warning to the American Public: http://historymatters.gmu.edu/d/6441
(Note: Part of Lawson's testimony is available in audio format at the site Authentic History:
"The World Was at Stake": Three "Friendly" HUAC Hollywood Witnesses Assess Pro-Soviet Wartime Films (Jack L. Warner, Louis B. Mayer, Miss Ayn Rand)
A news report from November 25, 1947, which announces the blacklisting of the Hollywood Ten hosted on the Authentic History Center.
A brief overview article from the Library of Congress, The First March From Selma
March 7, 1965
Civil Rights, Voting Rights, and the Selma March via the Armistad Digital Resource published by Columbia University
The American Experience: March from Selma to Montgomery, Alabama via PBS. Includes in article discussing why the activists decided to
march and a couple of primary sources.
Anrticle, First March from Selma, from the Library Congress with hyperlinks to additional information as well as primary sources.
Documents relevant to the voting rights struggle.