Skip to Main Content

Ellis Sumner's Causes of Conflict CBA : Topics 12-22

Gale Virtual Reference Library

ebooks searchable using the search window above
  • Alternative Energy , 3v,  2007
  • American Decades , 10v,  2001
  • American Decades Primary Sources , 10v,  2004
  • Biotechnology: Changing Life Through Science , 3v,  2007
  • Checks and Balances: The Three Branches of the American Government , 3v,  2005
  • Cold War Reference Library , 6v,  2004
  • Constitutional Amendments: From Freedom of Speech to Flag Burning , 2nd ed.,  3v,  2008
  • Copyright for Schools: A Practical Guide , 4th ed.,  2005
  • Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States , 5v,  2008
  • Environmental Science: In Context , 2v,  2009
  • The Gale Encyclopedia of Science , 4th ed.,  6v,  2008
  • Human and Civil Rights: Essential Primary Sources , 2007
  • Inventors and Inventions , 5v,  2008
  • Science and Its Times , 8v,  2001
  • Supreme Court Drama: Cases That Changed America , 4v,  2001
  • The U.S. Constitution A to Z , 2nd ed.,  2008
  • UXL Encyclopedia of Diseases and Disorders , 5v,  2009
  • UXL Encyclopedia of Drugs and Addictive Substances , 5v,  2006

ABC-CLIO

  ABC-CLIO Access sources of information covering the explorers of the Americas to the issues of today’s headlines, American History investigates the people, events, and stories of our nation’s evolution.

American Government

  • U.S. at War
  • American History
  • World Geography
  • World History: Ancient/Medieval & Modern
  • Social Issues

To access from home, see a librarian at ARHS for the username and password.

Iran-Contra

Take a Closer Look

Topic overviews

Reagan and the 'Iran-Contra' affair - BBC News
Understanding the Iran-Contra Affairs - Brown University
The Reagan Revolution in Perspective - Digital History

Primary Sources

The Iran-Contra Affair 20 Years On - Documents Spotlight Role of Reagan, Top Aides housed at the National Security Archive

Documents via the National Security Archive reposted by Brown University.

The Contras, Cocaine and Covert Operations - National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Book No. 2

The Deputy Director of the CIA Advises on the Situation in Nicaragua - CIA, Memorandum from DDI Robert M. Gates to DCI William J. Casey, "Nicaragua," SECRET, 14 December 1984, George Washington University, The National Security Archive, The Iran-Contra Affair 20 Years On

Caspar W. Weinberger, Diary Entry for 7 December 1985, (Washington, DC: National Archives); available from The National Secruity Archive, The Iran-Contra Affair 20 Years On

 National Security Council, "National Security Planning Group Minutes: Subject: Central America, SECRET," 25 June 1984, (Washington, DC: National Archives), available from The National Security Archive, The Iran-Contra Affair 20 Years On

United States Central Intelligence Agency, The Freedom Fighter's Manual (New York: Grove Press, [1985]).

The Strategic Defense Initiative

Topic overviews as well as the Ronald Reagan's "Address to the Nation on the Meetings with Soviet General Secretary Gorbachev in Iceland, October 13, 1986"

Bay of Pigs Invasion

Topic Overview and Background Information

Military Resources: Bay of Pigs Invasion & Cuban Missile Crisis via the National Archives

Bay of Pigs: 40 years after The National Security Archive site provides a thorough history of the Bay of Pigs invasion with links to full-text documents and audio recordings.

The CIA's Internal Probe of the Bay of Pigs Affair
Created by Michael Warner, this CIA website focuses on the CIA inquiry into the government's handling of the Cuban Bay of Pigs operation.

The Soviet Invasion of Afghanistan

 

Iranian Hostage Crisis

Iranian Hostage Crisis including primary source documents via PBS

Understanding the Iran-Contra Affair via Brown University

 

Kent State Massacre