ABC-CLIO Access sources of information covering the explorers of the Americas to the issues of today’s headlines, American History investigates the people, events, and stories of our nation’s evolution.
American Government
To access from home, see a librarian at ARHS for the username and password.
| ebooks searchable using the search window above |
|
Primary Sources
Yalta Conference - The text of the agreements reached at the Crimea (Yalta) Conference between
President Roosevelt’s Report to Congress on the Crimea Conference via Teaching American History
What Was the Temperature of International Relations at the Time of the Yalta Conference via the Tne National Archives Learning Curves
Letter from Franklin Roosevelt to Josef Stalin, "Attachment to Notes, Fourth Formal Meeting of Crimean Conference, 4 P.M., February 7, 1945"
"Memorandum of Conversation -- Crimean Conference: Meeting of the President [Roosevelt] with Marshal Stalin" (February 8, 1945)
"Memorandum of Conversation -- Crimean Conference: Fifth Formal Meeting" (February 8, 1945)
Primary Sources
Memorandum from Averell Harriman to Harry Truman (June 11, 1945)
Memorandum from William Leahy to Secretary of State Stettinius regarding British officials' thoughts on Soviet claims in Poland and Eastern Europe (May 11, 1945)
Memorandum from William Leahy to Secretary of State Stettinius forwarding a statement from Stalin on the Provisional Polish Government
CIA and Assassinations: The Guatemala 1954 Documents via National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Book No. 4 Timeline: Guatemala's History of Violence via PBS' Frontline
Topic Overviews and Background Information
Warsaw Pact
Cold War History Project: Warsaw Pact housed at The Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars
NATO
Topic Overview and Background Information
The Development of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) via the The Harry S. Truman Library and Museum which includes links to primary source documents
Topic Overview and Background Information
Fall 2006, Vol. 38, No. 3, Prelude to McCarthyism: The Making of a Blacklist By Robert Justin Goldstein available at the National Archives
Teaching With Documents: Telegram from Senator Joseph McCarthy to President Harry S. Truman via the National Archives
50 Years: SAG Remembers the Blacklist, Special Edition of the National Screen Actor (January 1998)
Homeland Insecurities from Cold War Reference Library made available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library
Primary Sources
Excerpt from "One Hundred Things You Should Know About Communism in the U.S.A." made available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library
Teaching With Documents: Telegram from Senator Joseph McCarthy to President Harry S. Truman via the National Archives
Report, "American Relations With The Soviet Union" by Clark Clifford ["Clifford-Elsey Report"] located at the Harry S. Truman Library & Museum website
X (George Kennan), "The Sources of Soviet Conduct," Foreign Affairs, July 1947 available at the Foreign Affairs website published by the Council on Foreign Affairs
Review of how U.S.-Soviet relations had deteriorated since the end of World War II. Cold War Europe When looking at the map, click on pop-ups #1-7.
"We Must Keep the Labor Unions Clean": "Friendly" HUAC Witnesses Ronald Reagan and Walt Disney Blame Hollywood Labor Conflicts on Communist Infiltration:
"A Damaging Impression of Hollywood Has Spread": Movie "Czar" Eric Johnston Testifies before HUAC: http://historymatters.gmu.edu/d/6443
"They Want to Muzzle Public Opinion": John Howard Lawson's Warning to the American Public: http://historymatters.gmu.edu/d/6441
(Note: Part of Lawson's testimony is available in audio format at the site Authentic History:
"The World Was at Stake": Three "Friendly" HUAC Hollywood Witnesses Assess Pro-Soviet Wartime Films (Jack L. Warner, Louis B. Mayer, Miss Ayn Rand):
A Short History of the Department of State: Containment and Cold War, 1945-1961 via the Office of the Historian from the U.S. Department of State
Can capitalism and communism peacefully coexist? "The Manifesto of the Communist Party" by Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels.
Topic Overviews and Background Information
Memorandum of a Conference with President Eisenhower after Sputnik via the U.S. National Archives
Brown v. Board of Education: Virginia Responds, on online exhibition fromt the The Library of Virginia
Primary Sources made avialable by The Dwight D. Eisenhower Presidential Library and Museum
Related Materials to Brown v. Board of Education via The Library of Congress
Take a Closer Look
The Cold War Continued: Nuclear Arms Race, Arms Control, and Détente - American Decades. Ed. Judith S. Baughman, et al. Vol. 7: 1960-1969. Detroit: Gale, 2001
Dawning of the Nuclear Age - Cold War Reference Library. Ed. Richard C. Hanes, Sharon M. Hanes, and Lawrence W. Baker. Vol. 1: Almanac Volume 1. Detroit: UXL, 2004. 79-97
Renewed Tensions - Cold War Reference Library. Ed. Richard C. Hanes, Sharon M. Hanes, and Lawrence W. Baker. Vol. 2: Almanac Volume 2. Detroit: UXL, 2004. 191-212.
Mutual Assured Destruction - Cold War Reference Library. Ed. Richard C. Hanes, Sharon M. Hanes, and Lawrence W. Baker. Vol. 2: Almanac Volume 2. Detroit: UXL, 2004. 233-249.
Primary Sources
Documents via PBS: American Experience, Race for the Super Bomb
Dwight D. Eisenhower - Excerpt from "Peaceful Uses of Atomic Energy" Speech before the General Assembly of the United Nations, New York City, December 8, 1953
"Should America Build the H Bomb? - American Decades Primary Sources. In this excerpt from his essay "Should America Build the H Bomb?" Harold Urey (Discovered deuterium, a heavy isotope of hydrogen which won him the 1934 Nobel Prize in chemistry) concludes that the United States must develop the hydrogen bomb.
You need your King County Library Card Number and PIN to access these databases.
Topic Overview and Background Information
Primary Sources
Correspondence from Allen Dulles:
To Joseph McCarthy regarding allegations of Communist infiltrations of the CIA (July 7, 1954). [1 page]
To Gen. Mark Clark requesting information on "alleged communism and corruption" that Joseph McCathy has made available to him (January 15, 1955). [1 page]
To John McClellan regarding correspondence with Joseph McCarthy and future investigations of CIA personnel (January 21, 1955). [2 pages]
Letter from John McClellan to Allen Dulles (March 7, 1955) [1 page].
Decrypted VENONA files (1944-1945).
Topic Overview and Background Informaton
The Rosenberg Trial: University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Law
Topic Overviews, Background Information, and Biographies
Primary Sources
"Questions to be Considered regarding Possible U.S. Use of the Atomic Bomb to Counter Chinese Communist Aggression in Korea" (November 8, 1950)
Report to the National Security Council, "United States Courses of Action with Respect to Korea" (September 1, 1950)